Fall Birthday card

Well, I know I haven’t posted in while.  I have had a lack of mojo due to major stress at work.  However, things are looking up. 

It is my brother-in-law’s birthday on Sunday.  I have the worst time making masculine cards, so I wasn’t really looking forward to it.  Plus, most of my stamps seem flowery or just not guy-ish.  I have a pick up truck stamp making its way to me but I wanted to get this done ASAP.  Anyway, I used the Stamping 411 sketch (minus the bow).

First, I cuttlebugged my blue paper with the swirls folder.  Then I used a Unity tree stamp; which I inked in Stampin Up Chocolate Chip ink, embossed with clear powder and cut out.  Using a little leaf stamp from the Waltzing Mouse Bountiful Baskets set and the chocolate Chip ink again, I made a background pattern on the base card.  Using the Birthday Wishes sentiment from the same set, I stamped it onto a cut out from a Spellbinders Nestie.  Next, I attached the Nestie cut out to the blue paper, then added a little white rectangle over it. Finally, I attach the whole thing to the base card. 

Using the same wee leaf stamp, I added a few to the tree and colored them.   Using my versamark pen I “wrote” over the leaves and then embossed them with clear powder.  I added the tree to the card using dimensionals.  Then, I stamped and colored several more leaves.  Next, I added Gold Stickles to the leaves and covered them with Glossy Accents.  Since it is a card for a man, I decided on no ribbon.

I hope you like it.

Thanks for your kind comments and feedback.

Candy

4 Comments »

  1. Lee Said:

    So very pretty. Love it!

  2. I love the swirly branches of the tree, this is sooo awesome!

  3. What a fun tree…love the swirly branches! Great job with the sketch!

  4. That’s some intricate cutting on that tree — love what you did with the sketch! Thanks so much for playing along this week at Stamping 411. Blessings, Gretchen


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

