Christmas Ornament Card

I recently received an order from Stampin Up.  One of my items was an Ornament punch.  When I saw this weeks challenge at Polka Doodles I knew exactly what I wanted to do!  So the challenge this week was to make a card using a “fancy or interesting fold.”    Now, to be honest, I don’t think the fold I chose is all that interesting, but it qualifies.  I actually think what I decided to do with dangling ornament is more fun!

First, I used my Nesties to make a cut in the card, then a slightly larger cut in the AC patterned paper.  I used the punch on silver, red and green AC foil paper.  Using a Scor Pal I scored each in half and then ran the ornaments through my Xyron to get them sticky.  Then I attached half of one ornament to the half of a second to the half of a third to the other half of the first, adding the silver, elastic ribbon before attaching the last cut out.   This will make a 3D ornament.  Next, I added ribbon to both sides of the cut out on the patterned paper.  At the end of last christmas I found silver snow flakes embellies.  I tied some white thread onto them.  Using tape I attached the strings to the inside of the patterned paper, allowing the snowflakes and ornament to dangle in the opening.  Then I adhered the patterned paper to the card stock.  Using a 7 “x 4″ piece of card stock scored at 1″, 2″ and 3″ on the 4” side, I did an accordion fold.  I attached one of the sides to the inside back of card.  Then I added a piece of DCWV patterned paper to the inside back of my card (so you can see it through the cut out).  Next, I attached the other side of the accordion folded paper to the inside front of the card.  This lets the card stand on its own.  Finally, I tied a bow on one side of the card.  I thought about adding a sentiment, but it didn’t look right when I held it in front of the card (all my Christmas sentiments are too big – Oh, Carol, I need to place another order!)

I hope you like it.

Thanks for looking, and your kind comments!

Candy

5 Comments »

  1. Carol Fothergill Said:

    Candy, this is amazing! I love your ideas!

  2. Tracy Said:

    Fabby creation, thanks for joining Polkadoodles challenge, Good luck.
    Happy crafting
    Tracy x

  3. Hi, ooh this is gorgeous, I love what you have done with the bauble.
    Thank you for joining in with us this week at Polkadoodles, I look forward to seeing you again next time,
    Em.x

  4. Tip Top Said:

    Great card and the ornament is fab! Thanks for entering the Polkadoodle Challenge – hope you can join us again next week!

  5. Fliss Said:

    Beautiful card Candy. Love the tent shape.
    Thanks for sharing it with us for the Polka Doodles Fancy Folding challenge.
    x


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

