Christmas Candle Snow globe

This week at BBTB2 they challenged everybody to make something using a candle cut from a Cricut Halloween Cartridge.  I don’t have the cart, but I found a candle in the Joys of the Season cart and decided to use it.  I had so much fun making this card!  I wanted to make a snow globe with a candle in it, but I wanted the ball to be open to the inside. 

I used my circular Nesties for this because I find it easier to line everything up than with the Cricut.  I cut a large circle in the card.  Then cut out a rectangle in the color I wanted as my globe (light grey) and cut out a slightly smaller circle.  Then I placed the rectangle on the inside of the card, on the back of the front flap, so you could see some of the color come through around the edges.  I cut out another large plain white circle.  I placed this on the inside of the card to when it was closed the white circle fully covered the opening in the card. 

Next, I cut out the candle and all the pieces that went with it with my Gypsy.  I assembled the candle on the white paper, stacking the flame three high after I had used my Copics to color it and crystal Stickles to give it some shimmer.  I also stamped the dotted circle (Stampin Up) under the flame twice, once in orange once in yellow, just before gluing everything down.  Then I colored and glittered the holly leaves, and  added some berries I had from home decorations.  I added a ribbon, then adhered the snow globe base to the card.  Finally, I cut out more holly and blinged it up before placing it on the base.  I rounded the edges of the card and inked them with red.  The patterned paper is from DCWV Christmas stack.

I hope you like it.

Thanks for your kind comments and feedback!

Candy

3 Comments »

  1. Jeri Said:

    Candy–this is just so gorgeous. What a fantastic design. So glad you could share it with us at BBTB2.

  2. Candy, this is just beautiful! What a truly fabulous Christmas card! Thanks for joining us at BBTB2. xxD

  3. KarenP Said:

    Oooh, I love this! Awesome card!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

