9th Birthday Card

It’s my daughter’s 9th birthday on Sunday.  She is in love with monkeys so I had to put one on her card.  This isn’t exactly how I had envisioned the card because the 3 cartridges I ordered haven’t shown up yet.  Oh well.

For this card I used the Celebrations cartridge for the cake (cut on shawdow, blackout and layers at 2″), party hat (cut on shadow and blackout at 1.5″) and scalloped oval (cut on backout at 7.5″x 4.5″).  The New Arrival cartridge was used for the monkey (shadow and blackout at 3″).  The Plantin Schoolbook was used for the oval (adjusted with cricut design studio to fit inside the scalloped oval), monkey face oval (cut at 1″x 0.5″), number 9 (cut at 3/4″) and “balloon” (cut at 1″).  I hand trimmed the monkey’s belly.  The 9 was placed inside the ballon and I drew a line to the monkey’s hand.  The paper for the cake and party hat came from Nana’s Kitchen.  The design was so perfect I didn’t need to embellish!  Ki paper was used for the monkey.  Peachy Keen face stamps were used for the smile.  And googley eyes seemed perfect for this monkey’s personality.  DCWV solid color paper was used everywhere else.

The same size scallop oval as above was cut using DCWV Animal Crackers Stack.  I arranged it on the cutting mat so the monkey border lined up where I wanted.  I adjusted the white oval cut once again with Design Studio and embossed a sentiment.

After I was done with both pieces they were lined up and I punched a hole in the top.  Then used a ribbon to connect them.

1 Comment »

  1. Carole Said:

    Love your monkey card. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a sweet comment on my post.
    Carole


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

