45th Anniversary Card

It’s my in-law’s 45th wedding anniversary (can you imagine!).  I made them this card in practically no time.  I love it when I am inspired, have all the materials on hand, and know where to find the cuts I am looking for on my cartridges!  It doesn’t happen very often.

I stopped by their house last night on my from taking my girls to their gymnastics meet (which they did awesome at!).  My in-laws love vintage things.  They have a butcher block table that was in my father-in-law’s father’s butcher shop.  It’s got to be over a hundred years old!  Not to mention the sentimental value and memories it brings back for him.  That is what inspired my paper choice.

I cut the toile paper at 7″x 3″ and the stripped paper at 7″x 2.5″ then overlapped them on a blank cream-colored card.  Then I tacked down my ribbon and made a bow.

I used the “love” cut from the Home Decor cartridge in both shadow and regular cut.  Then cuttlebugged the cream cut a couple of times with the dots embossing folder.  I cut the scalloped oval and “45” using the Storybook cartridge.  Using my Design Studio (use it all the time!). I placed the “45” inside the oval and set it to cut.  It came out exactly as I envisioned! After placing a little square of black under the scallop I attached it to the folded ribbon.  I didn’t have to use pop dots when attaching it to the card because the ribbon gave it a nice lift.

Once I attached the die cuts to the card I felt it needed a little bling, after all it’s been 45 years!  I added the red jeweled heart by the love and 4 little crystals by the 45 on the oval.

For the inside I use the toile and striped paper layered on one another along the right side of the card.  I thought a sentiment on the upper flap was perfect as it was set off by the ribbon.  Now I had the entire left side of the card to leave a nice message.

I thought this sentiment (Unity stamps) was perfect as there are hundreds if not thousands of memories in a 45 year marriage to reflect upon.

Thanks to everyone who has left such nice comments it helps me to continue to grow in this fun endeavor!

1 Comment »

  1. I love my Cricut personal machine! It has made my scrapbooking time SO much more relaxing. I don’t own too many carts but my favorite is Paper Dolls.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

